A beautiful Life

©King

“… See I’m parked a stone-throw away from my office. Gives me enough distance to feed their hungry eyes with my alluring walk.  I’m clad in a figure flattering ivory white dress and red stilettos.  I am also wearing Chanel fragrance, which is mild but seductive. Men want me; women want to be me.  

At 25, I’m wealthy with property investments.  

I hop into my Lamborghini murcielago and speed off.  From my rearview mirror, they can be seen cat-calling but my roaring engine drowns their voices.  I do not have the time to think about it.  I need to get home and get ready for dinner. Amani, my fiancé will be picking me up at 8.00p.m. for dinner.”

These are the the words written in my diary when I was 16.

 I love my 16 year-old self.  She has a wild imagination.  She is a bold and fearless dreamer. 

She does not want to be a cliché. She is different from what we become as we grow older. 

Now,  many of us may have made plans and goals but these were just to direct us to achieve by other people’s standards. So we aim to pass our high school exams,  enroll into campus,  meet someone, get good jobs,  get married,  get kids and see our grandkids before we sleep with the angels . 

Then what? 

…  loads of trivial BS ideas on where we will go after we die.  Ranging from getting many virgins in paradise ,to  getting eternal life,  to coming back as a cow or a plant… Depending on what gives the bereft some comfort or even gives you hope for a second shot at life.

In his wisdom, Pope Paul VI once said that somebody should tell us,  right at the start of our lives,  that we are dying.  Then we might live life to the limit,  every minute of every day.  We should do whatever we want to do. Because there are only so many tomorrow’s. 

So let’s hold up for a second. Let’s get real and quit with the mediocrity. 

We don’t know what tomorrow brings.  Nobody has assured you that you will even wake up tomorrow. 

A life partner,  a good job and children are a bonus for life. But there’s much,much more to life.And trust me,  there’s  nobody to blame after all opportunities are gone.  At the end of it all,  the person that matters is you. YOU fear what guys will say,  YOU hold pain and bitterness because of something that happened decades ago and YOU don’t want to open up to new opportunities.

Hey,  typical person,  spread your limits and see your life expand. Do not fear rejection or failure…  Just live! 

                          🌹🌹🌹🌹🌹

Live in the moment !

The purpose of life, after all, is to live it,  to taste experience to the utmost,  to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.
               -Eleanor Roosevelt 

********************************

               A LIFEWELL LIVED

 Janet Kanini Ikua,

“Even those who never met her were in awe of her courage.” says Larry Madowoas he pays a touching tribute to his beloved friend. 
 

“She lost her hair in the many rounds of chemotherapy but never her smile nor her spirit. I admired her tenacity and her faith even in the most difficult of situations, still encouraging everyone and still full of life.”

Her brave fight against cancer has inspired many.  She led a beautiful life and will be missed by Kenyans. We hoped for her recovery,  but God knows best. 
RIP Janet 🌷

Special thanks:Wangechi_Kiongo.

12 thoughts on “A beautiful Life

Add yours

    1. Am glad that it led to meaningful resolutions. And yes, pleasing our maker will bring greater joy in this life and open doors for limitless opportunities. ‘Beyond what our minds have perceived’ Great thought Liz.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love this piece, Cera. Thank you for a much needed reminder to listen to my heart and my brain, before I listen to others with their own values and ideals and “rules” (for what to do in your 20s, 30s and 40s, for whom to marry, etc.) that do not resonate with my own.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Anchal, I’m so glad that this piece reminded you of that important part of you. Furthermore, it is your life, darling and not other people’s. Thanks for a wonderful feedback… 🌹

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

